Second Trip to SD

Lee192233

Hey all, Thanks for all the reports that are coming in. My good friend and I are heading out to Arlington again this year. Last year we did pretty well with 11 birds in 3 days hunting. I'm pretty revved up to get out there. We had a great time, the people are awesome and the hunting was pretty good. I have one question, are porcupines common in the eastern part of the state? Seems to be lots of reports of them. Thanks for any input!
Lee

I have been hunting out in that area for 27 years, never encountered one...just spent 8 days there, returning Sunday and never even thought about porkies...

Thanks guys! That's what I thought. There were a bunch of reports on the SD forum. Must all be from further west. We don't have to worry about them here in WI, either. I really enjoyed hunting out there last year. We're heading out Sunday and coming home Saturday. Any thoughts on good places to eat? There's a couple good spots in Arlington. We're going to the Lake Poinsett DU banquet on Friday. We went last year and it was a hoot. Got to know some locals and gave back to an organization that puts grass on the ground. Thanks again.
Lee

Carptom's report revealed several encounters with porkies and skunks. Three years ago my Max learned a hard lesson and tried to bite a porky - $180 vet bill to remove the quills.

We are hunting west river and I'll admit, this is a banner year for critters. Hopefully the dogs have learned their lesson, although one of our dogs (3-yr old) was hit twice. Fortunately we could remove the few quills from his mouth.

Max is a pointing Golden, learning this tactic at an early age. He'll lock on anything. Most of the time he won't move and I can grab him...but not always!

My suggestion: keep an eye on your dog and don't let him stray too far. If the dog is birdy and nothing flies, move to another area.