Recommendations on where to go for first wild bird (mine and the dog's) hunt

cbump

Hi, I live in Texas and have a 12 month old vizsla. I will be using my days off at the end of this month to go on a 2-3 day hunting trip. Looking for recommendations on where you think I should go, if you don't mind. I can go pretty much anywhere within about a 15 hour drive. I am new to upland hunting and it will just be me and the dog. If we can get one wild bird I would be ecstatic. We are in good shape and can walk/hunt all day.
My current thoughts are one of these:

Black Gap WMA in west Texas for blue quail
Tucson, AZ area for quail
South Dakota for pheasant (Platte or Aberdeen area)

Which would you choose? Do you have any other places you'd go? Species doesn't matter much.

Thanks

Hi, I live in Texas and have a 12 month old vizsla. I will be using my days off at the end of this month to go on a 2-3 day hunting trip. Looking for recommendations on where you think I should go, if you don't mind. I can go pretty much anywhere within about a 15 hour drive. I am new to upland hunting and it will just be me and the dog. If we can get one wild bird I would be ecstatic. We are in good shape and can walk/hunt all day.
My current thoughts are one of these:

Black Gap WMA in west Texas for blue quail
Tucson, AZ area for quail
South Dakota for pheasant (Platte or Aberdeen area)

Which would you choose? Do you have any other places you'd go? Species doesn't matter much.

Thanks
right there in your home state!! even though ks don't have many birds right now I would hit that before I made a long drive to s Dakota