Rattle snakes

barnstorm

I am new to Kansas bird hunting and my GSP's have never encountered a rattler. They hate critters of all sorts and attack almost anyting but other dogs or people. I am heading to Graham county over thanksgiving. Should I be concerned with snakes at all, and what should I do if a dog gets bitten? Also are there any other critters I should be aware of ? Thanks for any help! Barney from Minnesota

I am heading to Graham county over thanksgiving. Should I be concerned with snakes at all, and what should I do if a dog gets bitten? Also are there any other critters I should be aware of ?

Take the dog to the vet immediately! I recommend finding a vet that offers 24hr emergency service nearby. I don't think you have to worry about finding someone that stocks anti-venom, my vet told me they just shoot em' up w/ peniccillen (sp?) or something common to a basic supply.

SKUNKS! Be prepared for skunks.

NNOOOOOO not skunks I will bring baking soda dawn dish soap and peroxide. The ultimate skunk formula! So are there snankes in the area?(Graham co.)?

Search out a de-snaking clinic if you can before next spring.

There are rattlesnakes there. Let's hope for weather that will keep them tucked away for your trip! Send a pm to Britchaser. He can give you a lot better info pertaining to the risks of running dogs in Graham county (at least a county bordering Graham).

Good luck on your trip!!

I wouldn't worry about it. There are a few rattlers in Kansas, but not enough to be too concerned. The nights have been pretty cold lately and I wouldn't foresee running into any snakes around Thanksgiving.

Even without the risk of a rattlesnake, I would always be aware of the nearest vet. Even though they may not have a "24 Hour" emergency line, most of the vets in rural parts of the state are 24 hour vets because of the animals they treat.

Do a google search and call the vet ahead of time.

Thanksgiving r-snakes