Paying for access - appropriate? how much?

ChocoLab

Hi all,

I'm going for the Nebraska opener this weekend and am considering knocking on some doors, something I've never done before. With my out-of-state license plates and general lack of experience asking for access I was thinking I could offer landowners a few bucks.

Any thoughts on offering money? How much is fair? General permission asking tips?

Thanks all - I look forward to hearing what you have to say. :)

Hi all,

I'm going for the Nebraska opener this weekend and am considering knocking on some doors, something I've never done before. With my out-of-state license plates and general lack of experience asking for access I was thinking I could offer landowners a few bucks.

Any thoughts on offering money? How much is fair? General permission asking tips?

Thanks all - I look forward to hearing what you have to say. :)

My guess and this is pure speculation because I have never had to pay any sort of access fee or such, however from what I have heard, seen, or read it goes by $$$ per gun for like a full day or half a day. It can be anywhere from $25 per gun to $100 or more.....and even more depending upon how much access you are requesting. As in say Mr. Farmer/Rancher has 1,000 acres, however he has most of it already leased out or saved for friends, family and such. However he says, hey I have a strip of milo or corn with some weeds, CRP (maybe a 50 acre area) well if it is one guy and one dog and he says you could hunt all day on it, then maybe $50 for just you would be a fair offer.

However, I would not offer money at first, you might offend. Offer something else or just ask for permission. If you get a no or something then perhaps saying well I do not mind paying. Again, some folks might get offended. Just something to remember.....