Opener Etiquette

dekuiper

My first year as a SD resident! While I've been hunting there as a non-resident for the last 15 years I am curious about etiquette for the resident opener goes as far as public ground. I'm thinking I'll be hunting public ground around Plankinton and "in the area" with my GSP and Brittany.

Is it best to arrive early to the area I wish to hunt and sit there until the appropriate time? What time is generally early enough?
If someone is already there, is it OK to join?
Similarly, should I expect others to join in the field at the same time as me?

Thanks for your advice!

Can't speak for SD specifically as I've never hunted their opener. But I'll assume it's the same as any other pheasant opener. Id arrive to my spot early to sit and wait. I usually try and get to a spot 2 hours before legal shooting. I get there an hour early when it isn't opener just so I can listen for cackles and watch any birds that may fly in.

As far as joining someone, definitely communicate. Myself, I prefer not to have someone come into my spot and want to hunt with me. I can't hunt the same with someone I've never met compared to myself or my usual group. I feel uneasy because idk what kind of sportsman they are in terms of safety. But that's my preference.

As far as others joining you, same thing as above, just communicate. Say you realize it's public ground but you prefer to hunt it yourself since you got here first. If they don't like that (again, it is public) then just talk with them to get a game plan. Are they hunting WITH you or just in the same field as you. Where are they going and where are they going to finish. That type of stuff.

If it’s a fairly big spot, others will
Park at a designated spot and will
Be joining you…focus on small spots with one parking area, perhaps. I arrive 2 hours early on the general opener…