need guidance

andrewbram6

Good evening all. I am new to the whole scene. I was wondering if anyone here can give me pointers or point me in direction of good resources to be successful. From what I hear you must know someone to have good hunts and wondering if that is true. I probably wont get to do much other then scout this year because it is my nephews first year. luckly fate brought me and my brother out here and we need some help. the army brought me here and his kids and ex brought him, needless to say we are all we have and trying to figure this out all on our own is rather daunting..... We gotta start somewhere and we have four kids in counting to make memories with.. Any help would be great thank you. info like areas to look at an what to look for would be great

Welcome. :)

I'd check with the fish and game department sites of the states you are interested in. They are generally willing to send you all the info and maps you need as your success insures their success. I received a large packet from South Dakota last fall just filled with maps. A call yesterday to California F&G led me to sites I was interested in.

good luck-

This site is a great place to start learning... I just watched the free DVD that came with the Small game brochure and it is really quite good. Make sure you check it out.

Aside from that... First off I would say that any (safe) day out in the field with your brother and kids is going to be a great day... Sometimes you limit, sometimes you skunk, but being out there with people you enjoy is what makes it a "good day."

That being said... I would rather gave good days where I shoot birds vs good days when I do not. You can learn it yourself, but finding experienced hunters to tag along with certainly helps. There is a good chunk of public walk in access around the state, and those areas will hold birds. Also, a military man taking kids hunting can not look too bad if you decide to knock on doors.