Ipswich?

How was the season around Ipswich? And how did it compare to previous years?

I’ve been hunting around the Ipswich area for the last 15 years. Last year was up a little bit compared to the previous year but I would only say by about 10%. It’s been back to back dry springs and Summer which has really hurt the bird population in that area. We were still able to Limit out on good private land but it did take from 10 AM all the way to dusk to get the job done.
In years past we would have our limits by noon or 1 PM. It’s still a good area but nowhere near 10 years ago .

Agree with Hockeybob. Was better than last year, but waayyy down from the last 10 years or so. One thing I really noticed was the lack of cattails. The drought has really made some of the slews more grass than cattails, which makes me worry about winter survival rates. I hunt private ground around there, had a couple days where we hunted all day, and a couple where we were done early. Driving around in the morning you really notice how few birds you see compared to prior years. I'll still see more birds in one day in SD than I will all year here in Illinois.

I live near Ipswich. Opening weekend group harvested twice as many birds as last year. We ran out of birds in early December. We have a tough week coming up so we will see what is coming.