Ia. Opening report

Cackleburs

Hi. CB here, I'm a newbie here, but an old pheasant hunter. Glad I found this site.
As usual I was very nervous opening morning because due to many reasons I'm down to about zero on access to private ground. So I mostly hunt WMAs for my birds. Similar to duck-hunting I staked out a chunk of wma at 6:30 a.m. for the 8:00 opener. I'm hunt N.Central Ia. and I was totally dumb-struck when not a single other car/rig showed up at the wma! My buddy from Anoka, Mn and I had the entire wma to ourselves on opening morn. I was so perplexed that I thought I had the date wrong! The north wind that was predicted was absolutly wrong for our north to south plan, but little we could do about it. At least the 15 to 25 mph blow didn't materialize that weather.com declared. It was maybe 10-13 range and swirly.
I was hunting a 10 yr old Brit and my buddy had a good Yellow Lab. I say that grudgingly, because I've been a pointer snob for many decades and have
a fairly strong bias against them big-headed bulldozer labs, but we've been friends since the craddle and he's worked hard to have Deuce work close and be totally field trained so I have forgiven him. His dog actually pointed two roosters, so what can I say?

As it turned out we had an ultra-excellent hunt. We collected our 6th bird on the walk back to the truck at 10:00 a.m. The birds were plentiful on this piece of public ground. We never heard another shot from any other party. We found all birds we brought down. Most were this year birds, but two were long-tail two yr.olds. To hunt with a childhood pal over two good dogs and harvest a few birds is what it's all about. This one goes in life-long file of Good Times Afield. Hope all of yours went as well. Hope to read a few more. Time to light the fire.:cheers:

Cackleburs,