Hunting Brush

sloth5202

Maybe this is old news but it proved true this weekend and last night. I listened to the FAN Outdoors show Saturday morning on my way out to the field and "The Capt'n" said they would be hunting the brush this year because in his scouting he had noticed a lot of birds in those areas. I'm the type of guy that typically hunts by himself on public land so I usually hunt transition areas because I can cover all of those areas much easier than a big expanse of grass.

This strategy worked great the last few days. All the birds I found were near a big pile of brush or some sort of woody growth in the middle of a big grassy or swamp type area. I'm pretty new to the whole solo hunting thing so having success like was great. How many of you hunt cover like this or use this strategy? Where else do you tend to hunt when hunting on your lonesome?

Thats where we shot 90% of our birds. The rest where in shelter belts and cattails. We where an hour early to our spot both days and watched them fly right into the stuff both mornings.

Yeah Saturday morning I was out there at 730 because I knew it was going to be a popular spot. They were spreading manure across the road from me and I watched a big ole rooster fly across the road and right into a big old shrub and he was right there when it was time to hunt.

I remember a couple of years ago I would walk aimlessly through all that grass and not get a single bird until I figured out where pheasants actually hang out. It also helps that most of the crops where I hunt were out this year. Makes for a lot of fun!