GWP'S vs. Deutsch Drahthaar

Hi my name is Kevin and I'm fairly new to upland hunting last year I bought my first dog an amazing vizsla named Otter. He's been a great member to our family and my kids really enjoy having him and he's a beast in the field. I'm thinking of getting another dog and am looking at many different breeds I ran into a topic discussing the GWP'S vs.the Deutsch Drahthaar aside from how people look at them basically being the same other then how there registered is there any difference in how the hunt or is one better then the other. I also am curious as to there demeanor I've herd people say they can get aggressive sometimes, I understand breeding and training have alot to do with it but if anyone could explain to me if there's a real difference in the two I would appreciate it thanks

Strict breeding is the main difference. To be registered with the vdd which is governing body Verin Deutsche Drathaar. Possibly a better chance (but not always) at getting a real nice dog. but I'll leave that to be debated by those that can answer from experience. They can also be very fur sharp so watch them around cats.

I'm sure others will chime in with more knowledge.

Last edited:
I had a black and white gsp which had a strong connection to the German blood lines for gsp's. I would anticipate a draathar to be similar. She was tough as nails and had an extremely strong prey drive. As you probably know, Germans breed them to hunt about anything. This is good and bad as outlined above. My daughters cat never had a chance.

She was a hunting machine but a terrible house dog and not the best with kids. Actually, had to get rid of her for snapping at my newborn daughter one to many times. Having said that, if I did not have kids or kept my dog in a kennel, I would not hesitate to have another knowing it will probably be head strong, tough, and a hunting machine.