Good bird dog?

Wisco_Outdoors

My wife recently brought home a black lab/hound mix from the humane society. He is about 6 or 7 months old and I just started bird hunting, just went for the first time last weekend. My friend and I hunted grouse and wood**** and I was wondering if he would be a good bird dog or not. He doesn't really like to play fetch and it seems like he looses interest pretty quickly. He is a very quiet dog too, he never really barks. I'd like to try pheasant hunting some time but have no idea what I would be doing. Also any tips on how to train him would be very appreciated. I've been reading quite a bit since last weekend about what to do for him, and I'm still not sure when your dog is supposed to point or flush. I really don't know many people around here that go bird hunting to answer all my questions haha.

I'm no training pro, but I've hunted behind a lot of dogs. I've actually hunted pheasants behind a bassett hound before. Your lab will most likely be a natural flusher w/o much training at all. Birds tend to excite dogs so they'll naturally want to make them fly. Just work on obedience with the dog. If it stays close, I don't think you'll mind whether it points or flushes. A decent e-collar will help you keep him close (I just bought my first one and find the dogs to be quite responsive). Retrieving....good luck on that one. There is a method I've heard of called force fetch. I've never used it and I hope I never have to. Get the dog interested in birds by exposing him. I think you have a good chance of making a good hunting buddy out of him!

Best of luck Sir!