Forced Fetch/Trained Retrieve questions

get'EM'up

I am kicking around the idea of having my 3 1/2 year old GSP FF/TR trained (to be honest I'm a bit scared of the idea). She hunts birds amazingly, and I don't want to accidently mess up her hunting ability. This season there might have been maybe 5 birds (out of 100 or better) she did lock-up for. She does not love to retrieve dead birds, however. She will play fetch for extended periods of time UNLESS there is something else to "hunt". She did return roughly 25% of the birds downed this year, and will more aggressively retrieve if another dog is present. So mu questions are:

What has been your experience with FF/TR?

Would you recommend it or not, and for all breeds/temperaments of dogs?

If so would you recommend I educate myself on the method or seek out a professional? I think I am a pretty good trainer, but I've read/watched enough suggesting FF is a tough training process and a guy might be better off to not do his own dog. That being said, my pup is like a baby to me, I adore her and I'm pretty sure she's smitten with me too.

If you'd suggest a pro, does anyone know roughly how long it take, how much it cost, and pro in Iowa?

A lot of questions I know, anyone who can handle some or all of them I would be very appreciative!. Happy New Year!

If you have a non-retrieving dog I would highly suggest that you have the dog Force Fetched (Trained Retrieve). I would recommend it for any hunting breed. Nothing better than good retrieving dog. My personal recommendation would be to have the dog professionally trained. I think it's a tough project to take on if you are not skilled in doing it. I've tried, and I failed. Depending on the dog it will probably take 1-2 months. From what I've seen most trainers will charge $600-800 per month. That may or may not include birds. Sorry but I can't help you with a good trainer in Iowa but I'm sure there are others on this site that can. Good luck.