Blue Buffalo Dog Food

Dakotazeb

This thread is not intended to stir up a dog food debate. So please do not go in that direction. I am simply curious to hear from those that feed Blue Buffalo and what they think of it. I have been feeding my dog NutriSource Adult for over 6 years and have been very pleased with the results. However, I am considering switching to Blue Buffalo mainly because NutriSource is difficult to find in Arizona when I'm there for the winter.

So for those of you feeding Blue Buffalo what formula are you feeding?

And lets not get into cost, etc. It's not an issue.

I fed it for a short time a number of years ago. My Shorthairs did ok on it, but If I remember I had to feed quite a bit (more than 4 cups) daily to just to maintain weight during the season. I think it was their Adult Life Protection Chicken and Brown Rice formula. It's not exactly tailored to the working or sporting breeds that need higher protein and fat = more calories. Now... that was before they had their Wilderness line which is higher in protein. Only downside I can see to the Wilderness line is the largest bags you can get seem to be 24lbs.

Isn't Jmac down in Arizona? Maybe ask him what he feeds and or what's available down there? or Just buy enough to last the winter and bring it with ya...

Last edited:
I've done some research on the web since I posted this and I think I'll stay with NutriSource. Dogs have done very well on it in the past so why change now. "If it ain't broke don't fix it". eh? Now that I'm down to one dog it's not as big a deal.

I tried it for a while and the dogs got the runs. Feed pro plan forever but since they changed the formula my dogs did not do as well. Switched over to Diamond Naturals and its not to bad actually but I think I am going to give Victor a try.