2 year old English Springer Spaniel heel

NewmanCA

I obtained a two year old Springer Spaniel. I have little experience training dogs. I owned two labs before. The first lab was trained by a pro trainer both obedience and for upland. Second dog no training at all. I want to start learning how to train dogs. My lab was taught to sit on the heel command and to stay seated until the okay command was used. I am trying to get the Springer to do that. He will sit beside me for a minute when I say heel but then wants to either jump on me or start running around. I just have him on a regular leash at this point. Want to avoid ecollar for now. Tried getting dog to sit as I move away the length of the leash but no luck so far. Not sure the best way to approach this to get dog to understand and learn

Obviously start with some basic obedience commands. And then it's just repetition, repetition and more repetition. You need to be firm and consistent but it also has to be fun for the dog. The times he does get it right give lots and lots of praise. If the training session starts to become not fun or uncomfortable for the dog, or you start to lose patience you should quit and try again later or the next day.

Before you get too far into the training you should make sure you are doing it correct. There are some good books and videos out there to help you or you could enlist the assistance of a pro. There are quite a few Springer guys on this site like FCSpringer that I'm sure will jump in and offer some advice. Good luck.

It's hard to know from your description what exactly you are doing to teach obedience. I suggest you get a book or training video. Start him just like a puppy. Also, seek out a spaniel club or a retriever club to work with.

I've heard some say Ken Roebuck's book is dated but I've never heard that a dog knew that. "Gun Dog Training Spaniels and Retrievers" is a good place to start.
http://http://spanieljournal.com/12bfawcett.html