Were to Hunt?

KJD_0214

I am new to Pheasant hunting in Illinois. I am in Will County. Were can I go and what do I need to know about going?

Do I have to do anything special to get out at Kankakee or Des Plaines. I bird hunted when I was a child. So about 20 years ago. I have been shooting trap for a while now and want to get back into bird hunting. I have 2 labs which neither are trained for hunting.

If you poke around the website it provides instructions (I'm going to start hunting there too this year). You dogs might have an aptitude for bird hunting so give them a chance. Look around the internet for "deutsche drahthaar drag training". If your dogs are perceptive enough to figure out how to follow birds and keep their nose down they might do ok once they figure out they need to move to maximize the chance of intercepting foot scent or air scent - if they can't figure this out don't bother and get another dog. Try and do the "force fetch" training too (look up on google). They'll need to sit, heel, fetch, etc. before even thinking about training for bird hunting though.

You should be able to figure out in a week or two if either of your dogs are worth further training effort. Hunting those public areas without a dog would require several people that have a good idea how to hunt that way (if you simply walk the cover the pheasants will walk out of the area before you see them). I know people that hunt without dogs there but they don't do that well.

I have several bags of frozen pheasant wings for you and can maybe spend a little time with your dogs to see if they have any aptitude for it. If your dogs are really well behaved I could maybe take you with at Erriena (a Morris club). If they're not well behaved, my dog won't interact with them well at all (she's a really old alpha chessie and lacks patience).