Total Newbie - Introduction

Hello everyone - my name is Brian and I am so happy to have found this forum. I am an active fly fisher based in New Jersey who is most likely relocating to CO in the Spring. I did not grow up hunting in any capacity, nor did anyone in my family, though we've done some skeet shooting over the years. I have been doing my best to educate myself on the wonderful tradition of bird hunting and am extremely excited to get involved in the sport, when the time is right, hopefully in Colorado.

My question is, if you were me and you wanted to get started in upland bird hunting from scratch, what would you do to ensure a safe, ethical hunting experience that is also fun, conservation-minded, etc? My wife also wants to be involved. We love hiking so we seem to be more drawn to upland than, say, sitting in a duck blind. And the thought of being able to hunt for our own food is particularly attractive since my wife is a great chef.

I am a lover of the outdoors and just want to expand my interaction with wildlife. Thank you to anyone who responds - it feels like a shot in the dark but we shall see!

Brian

One thing to consider is the Hunter Ed requirements in Colorado. There are classes available to take. I took one in Kansas as a 52 year old adult due to the fact I was born in 1950 and to elk hunt in Colorado would require although the date for Kansas Hunter's Ed is 1957. Hunter Ed classes are good for all ages and may be necessary in your case. Attached are Colorado's regs.
View attachment 7673

Getting involved with conservation groups like PF, RMEF, NWTF, DU would put you in contact with other hunters and possibly the opportunity to tag along without a gun at first. I have tagged along on a number of hunts with my camera, wanting to preserve memories of my friends or family members hunts.

Glad to see your interest in hunting. Welcome to UPH.

Last edited: