shock collar placement

what is the reasoning behind putting the e-collar around the waist of the dog I've seen this in many pictures of training sessions but noone has given a reason behind it

gcb

i cant believe no one has replied to this yet. i have seen this also and dont no the reason behind this practice. hope someone will chim in.:)

I am no expert on dog training, but my trainer had me put it around the flank when I taught the command 'heel' and 'whoa'. I would assume since both involve movement of the dog, it is easier on the dog to have it in this position. He told me when they both get whoa broke, the collar will then be moved to the neck and they will be re-introduced to the commands with the collar on their neck. I do think the flank is a lot more sensitive. As I said I am no trainer and this is my uneducated reasoning behind it.

Rod

ive trained a few dogs in my day and never had to teach whoa or heel that way and i've only ever seen it done on males

trainers use it in formal obedience for the "sit" command (flushing dogs). The prongs close to the the base of the tail has a tendency to push the dogs butt down.
ive not had to do this , with any dog ive trained, to sit????? ok anybody got more?????:rolleyes:

I never have either but have seen some pics of it bieng used and was wondering why and for what reason

I was told it was used to prevent/stop creeping when on point, using a very low setting or vibrate to stimulate a solid point.

Hot Rod was right on the money. It's a favored position by some trainers as it tends to work a bit better there to stop a dog than when on the neck. They are a bit to a lot more sensitve there in my personal experience. Nothing to do with sex, those that like it use it this way for both sexes.