Reco Areas for Hunting Pheasants with Falcons?

Eric

Hello,

I am new to this group and am hoping I can both gain and share some good knowledge.

My situation is a bit unique in that I hunt both ducks and uplands, but with falcons. It is similar in some ways to gun hunting, but has more stringent requirements as far as set ups and terrain. In short, we use dogs to locate and point, put up a falcon who gains height, and when overhead, we flush and let the falcon do its thing.

I have been hunting primarily ducks for the last 20 years with falcons in Nor Cal, due in part to my location, and in part to the very well known crash of pheasant populations in the state.

But as one of my good friends now has a great dog and we are both getting a bit bored hunting just ducks with our falcons, we are starting to "re-explore" the traditional areas in Nor Cal you used to be able to find wild pheasants.

So my big question is: Are there general areas (I don't expect anyone to give up their prime hunting spots!) that people would recommend for running a dog that is fairly open country where pheasants have made a comeback? In the old days, we used to fly our falcons around Arco in Sacto (now very built up) as well as Davis and Dixon.

A buddy and me went up to Colusa last weekend and were a bit shocked by how little we found. The new farming practices seem to have basically eradicated the wild birds from the rice farms.

Anyway, any general pointers would be much appreciated.

Best,

Eric

Thanks for joining the forum. I cant help you with your question at all. I am sure all of us would love to hear more about hunting pheasant with falcons. That sounds pretty cool.

I used to work for Pebble Beach out there. Twice a year that would bring a falcon out to keep the seagull population down. It was great fun to watch the falcon work.