Question on Shock collars and cold temps.

3car

I have a sport dog shock collar and also noticed this last year as well. It seams after an hour of walking in colder temps the effectiveness of the shock decreases or is nonexistent. The lab I have is very responsive to any shock but after an hour in cold temps the dog doesn't respond. Has anyone experienced this? Maybe its the batteries loosing their effectiveness when its really cold? The collar was new last year.

Honestly I don't know about the cold. but mine had the same symptoms so I ordered both batteries online for about 50 bucks and replaced them myself. The charge lasts longer now and was much cheaper than having to send to collar clinic like my old collars. The cold logically would affect how long the charge lasts, but the battery change was quick and easy. A new set of batteries should fix the collar, though I'm no expert. Mine is 3 years old and used quite a bit.

I dont know how old the dog is - but if you're worried about the battery usage you are likely WAY overusing the collar. Your dog is probably hunting scared.

Change your mindset - collar is there only to help reinforce and safety reasons if a dog is not listening (ie crossing a road etc) Other than that it shouldn't be needed if you've trained correctly and you are letting the dog do its job.

Get a GPS collar if you need to know where it is or are concerned about that.

:cheers:

This topic/question might well be posed to the manufacturer; would assume they have broached this question in their market research...

I know my car battery doesn't like severe cold!

I dont know how old the dog is - but if you're worried about the battery usage you are likely WAY overusing the collar. Your dog is probably hunting scared.