Making a move

huskyhunter

Morning guys,
First time poster here. I am in the process of looking to make a move out west from central MN and have kinda narrowed in on the Sheridan/Buffalo area. I am a mechanical engineer and have found job openings out there, so I dont think that is gonna be my problem. I am looking for a little advice as to how the bird hunting is out there, and also if anyone has any experience in central MN and could compare the two as far as bird numbers and ability to get permission to hunt decent pheasant habitat. I know bout the Bighorns for big game, but wondering how is public land in general for upland hunting?

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

Hey pardner, you will be driving through (and past) bird country on your way from MN to Buffalo/Sheridan. Instead of hunting birds, you will need to use a rifle for big-game hunting.................

Yeah I know I will be driving through some great pheasant country, and every year I take a trip or two down to southern ND to chase birds, but I am just kinda wondering what the hunting is around the Sheridan/Buffalo area for the weekends when I dont take trips to either ND, SD or back to MN. I def plan to use the rifle or stick and string to chase some critters around WY.

Yeah I know I will be driving through some great pheasant country, and every year I take a trip or two down to southern ND to chase birds, but I am just kinda wondering what the hunting is around the Sheridan/Buffalo area for the weekends when I dont take trips to either ND, SD or back to MN. I def plan to use the rifle or stick and string to chase some critters around WY.

Your moving into some of the best Bird hunting areas Wyoming has to offer. As far a land to hunt goes, you'll have to knock on some doors and ask permission. I think there is some public land also. Check with Wyoming game and fish. Knock on some doors I think you will find most landowner up there to be pretty nice people.