Lab does not hunt

moellermd

Super Moderator
My wifes uncle who I hunt with bunch has a two year female lab. It came from a breeder whose "parents hunt great." The dog loves to retrieve dead birds and always wants to go hunting. The problem is that 90% of the time she just walks right beside her owner. If she sees a bird or there is a lot of scent she will take off after the bird or start covering ground. Every now and then she gets a little to crazy and runs to far and busts the birds out of gun range. When she get called back or "nicked" she goes right back to walking beside my wifes uncle. How do you get a dog to want to hunt for birds all the time and cover ground? I have hunted behind several labs that seem to have this same problem they just walk beside the owner or slighly ahead. She probably gets hunted 20 plus days a year.

Last edited:
I am by no means a Lab expert. But I have read there is a gene in some labs that is called "non-slip retrieve". For that is what she is doing most of the time. I am wondering if this gene has been trained and used to where a real strong hunting instinct. Just isn't there anymore, in that strain of Labs. I guess what I'm trying to say is her bloodline has this breeding problem, where others don't.......Bob

Bob
Can you tell me anymore? Where did you read about the gene. Thanks
Mike

I'm sorry to say I read that many years ago in a magazine maybe. Which one is a good question. It could have been Outdoor Life or Field and Stream. It could have even been a training book. I looked and all my training books now are for pointing dogs. I have been hunting and working with dogs for 55 years. But the only time I was working with labs was in the late 50's. It is hard to say when and where I read it.......Bob

I think what we are getting into is the whole British vs American lab thing, another subject. But how do I help get her trained out of this or is it a lost cause?