Jean K Tool/Elliott SWA's - review

smdmz

Hi people. I just joined this forum, and hope to glean any bit of knowledge I can from yall. I'm going to try and contribute just in case someone finds my advice/reviews valuable. I just posted in the "Introduction" forum, so see link at the bottom of this post if you're interested. Long story short: I'm new to CO, grew up in Wisconsin hunting pheasants then shot a few in Iowa during college.

Seeing that I'm pretty fresh to CO still, I know very little about where to go other than what I've gathered off this forum, other similar forums, and pheasant population data from the state's wildlife studies. So currently my approach to finding good places is to get out and check every SWA and walk-in place on the map. If that place sucks, I head east. That's the plan.

SO last weekend me and my buddy took our French brittany spaniel and GSP (respectively) and decided to try our luck on the Jean K Tool SWA near Fort Morgan. I was surprised that we only saw 1 other pair of pheasant hunters out there for the start of opening day. Should've been an indication regarding the amount of birds that we'd find there: zero. Not even a hen. Plenty of waterfowl guys bangin away along the South Platte. But we walked the length of the SWA on the north side of the S Platte and back - saw a couple whitetails and a dog-sized rabbit but that's it.