Good 20 GA load for preserve birds

Rummer

Hi everybody,

I'm relatively new to pheasant hunting.

I have a 20 GA Browning O/U that I just love! I would really like to hunt with it.

Is an ounce of #6's @ 1220 ballistically potent enough for close flushing pen raised birds?

I know that the gun has to be patterned, but I want to be sure that I'm not wasting time/money patterning ammo that is throwing the shot too slowly.

Thanks

Imo that is more than enough for preserve birds, I would even load a 7.5 for my first shot. Have fun.

ditto-

If you mean Remington Pheasant loads I used them last winter. My dog had to make 2 retrieves- one for the bird, one for the head. ;)

I love 6's always my second shot in an O/U. Yes, they work very well on pheasant wild and Pen raised......Bob

Thanks for the replies guys.

This is the second year my buddies & I have done a preserve hunt. Last year I used a 12 GA shooting Kent Fastlead 1-3/8 oz of #6. I went 4 for 4 on roosters. All birds were taken with my open barrel (IC). All of the crumpled in air and the dogs didn't have to chase cripples. None of them seemed torn up, which surprised me, because they all seemed close.

I've never shot anything but skeet w/ a 20. The birds seemed to flush so close that I felt overgunned with the 12. I'm confident I can hit birds with the 20 (my scores at trap & skeet are about the same with a 20 & 7/8oz of shot as they are with a 12 and 1 oz), I just wanted to make sure I picked ammo that would do the job.

Based on what I've read here, if I'm not killing birds w/ 1oz of #6 @1220; it's not the gum/ammo.

Thanks again.

Yes, I agree that 1220 1 ounce 20 gauge load is a real killer. That is all I use on birds when shooting my 20 gauge. Do you reload them or are you buying factory? I reload them, if you want my recipe ask. It is an approved one straight from the Hodgdon Data website.......Bob