Garmin Alpha/TT15 Tips and Tricks

Schemy

Just pulled the trigger on this bundle. What does a guy need to know as far as tips and tricks?

This is my first time running a GPS collar.

Thanks

Spend some good time with the manual, Youtube and studying through the handheld unit's menus and stuff. There is a lot there. Its not difficult, but there is a lot.
Don't forget to mark the 'truck' location when starting a new hunt.
If you use two collars and also use correction, make darn sure you hit the right button when correcting one of the dogs.
If you use correction--be careful and ramp up from 1 low and watch for that wee twitch.

Have fun--it is a wonderful tool and helps a lot with lost dog anxiety and such.

Well my venture into the Garmin Alpha will have to wait. Got the box home from Cabelas, open it up ready to start playing with it. The handheld it there, but no collar. My store doesn't have any more in stock. So I'm now waiting on another kit to be shipped to the store.

Best purchase I've made for bird hunting period. No more searching for a dog on point that you can't see in heavy cover. No more wondering where/what they are doing, it's all right there in real time in the palm of your hand. Beeps when they go on point, tells you if they are running, sitting,pointing, and gives stats like distances for your dogs and you, as well as dogs average speed. Lots of info to view.
I setup a geofence of 100 yards on mine so if either of my dogs gets out past that point, it beeps at me. Its made my hunt so much more relaxing and enjoyable, not always having to keep track of the dogs whereabouts and how far out they are (I have 3 big roaming gsps)
One downside....im on my 3rd handheld. The screen will freeze up and the unit shuts down. Garmin has replaced it twice. So far no freezing with the one I picked up last month. Fingers crossed.
The technology is so impressive, I couldn't imagine ever hunting without it again.