First intro to birds question (novice with a Vizsla)

pnsballard

All...could use some advice/tips/tricks. I am not sure if I should be concerned yet but here goes:
I have a Vizsla I've been training (I'm new at this) since a pup--he's 24mos in September. I have him doing whoa, fetching, heel, not gun shy, loves to work a field and the yard, etc. However, we have not been on birds except wings on rods and pheasant scented/feather covered dummies (just hasn't worked out til now). Went out this week for the first time on pigeons in launchers but with people he did not know and two other dogs (brits--great breed) he did not know. I am learning so we went last after I watched them work (so field was scented up by the time we got our turn). Come my turn with Dakota and he just didn't have the drive I expected. He wanted to chase the other dogs, check out the new people (including the 10 year old) and just wasn't "on his game" and I think it throttled back his "birdiness". Could it be I have a "less birdie" dogs or is the first time out typically a crap shoot? He wasn't too excited about the pigeon I dangled in front of him either and the launcher spooked him a bit. Do I just keep going and try it solo and see what happens or is this something I need to worry about? Maybe I just need to keep walking fields chasing wild birds. Appreciate some sage advice.

Where to start....

He's 2 yrs old..... You should have had him around other people, dogs and birds by now.
I would take him to a game farm by yourself. Set out 3 birds (no thrower)put him on a check cord or if you can control him by collar or commands head him to the first bird and see what he does. Then the next and then the next. Let him alone if he bumps and chases the first two big deal but he should hopefully hold by the 3rd. If not you have have to put him on a check cord and teach him to hold or point.