First ever pheasant hunt-- I need to pick your brain

Kansan

Well, I just attempted to post a long winded post that took me an hour, and then it didn't post. So that's a kick in the nuts.

So, I'll condense my point that I tried to so eloquently articulate.

I'm from southeast Kansas, and have hunted my entire life. As you're likely aware, there are no pheasants in southeast Kansas. I mostly hunt on family land around home so I've never killed a pheasant in my life. I love to waterfowl hunt and have a 2 year old lab who is phenomenal on ducks and geese. He, like myself, has never upland hunted. So it will be just as much of a learning experience for him as me. He does have a great nose and has no trouble finding and tracking crippled waterfowl. I know if he gets a whiff of a pheasant he'll certainly have to go investigate. I suspect that as soon as the first bird boils out from under him, he'll know what the deal is. I'm currently an agronomy student at K-State, so I don't have too far of a drive to get in to some pheasants. I plan on loading up the pickup on Friday and heading west, just my dog and myself. I will be hunting all WIHA and was thinking about hunting the Osborne county area. If I don't have luck there I was thinking about trying Graham county. I have looked at aerial maps and found several tracts of WIHA with water, grass, and crops.

That said, I have a few questions for you.

1. I know better than to ask specific questions about someone's spot, so I'm asking in a very broad sense. But do the areas I mentioned seem like a decent start? If I don't find any birds, I'll try someplace else. I'll go where the birds take me.