feather chewing on retrive

dottie

I have a 2 year old Brittany. I am a complete Novice hunter/ trainer. Zippy will retrieve bumpers, or *generally anything I toss or place for fetching. He will retrieve and return to front and sit and hold until I command give.....but if we try this with a live/shot bird or a bumper with feathers taped on .....he will nibble/ chew on the *bird/ feathered bumper. He has a soft mouth mouth so the bird is not damaged but his *feather chewing is annoying and does not meet the level of the rest of his behavior/training.

I would appreciate any suggestions to correct this behavior.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab? S

Sounds like a "puppy thing." You should get lots of suggestions on this site and there are vollumes written on the subject - you might want to get a good book or video for this problem.

It's difficult to correct the chewing, if you're using freshly shot birds - one can't control the experience and make a correction. Feather-wrapped dummy might be more efficient, until the dog is beyond the chew habit.

Some have used a barbed- wrapped dummy, others sprinkle cyanne powder on the feathers. This may not be easy to correct, so be patient...