Don't Forget To Thank The Farmer

sas

As we wind down the season I hope we will all remember to show our appreciation to our farmer/landowner hosts. A "thank you", card, phone call, short visit doesn't cost a thing. If you are able send them a gift. Or go by and help out if you live in the neighborhood.

I have been chasing birds for almost 65 years. When I started I could go to the city limits and hunt as far as I wanted on just about anybody. That is gone forever. I didn't believe the forecast when it said that we would become a cashless society, and free hunting would gradually disappear. But, I was wrong. Both are coming true.

Kansas is a breath of fresh air to hunting. If you behave and ask permission you can still find space to hunt. But, if we, as a group, don't show our appreciation we will pay the consequences. I wouldn't blame a farmer for charging us a trespass fee. Have you noticed you are starting to pay for air at the gas station? The grocer doesn't offer you free bubble gum. It is all becoming part of the "bottom line."

As the generation of older farmers fades out what will the heirs do with their property? They are of a different era and it is not the same. With that in mind I think those who have any voting power and influence should think seriously about WIHA. It is a two sided coin. True, the more you have the more it may invite "foreigners" to come up and hunt. Conversely, if the private land starts to disappear where are those who are privileged now going to hunt? DO NOT take it for granted that you will always have a place to hunt unless you own the property. And where I hunt most of the property owners don't seem to hunt themselves.