Cocker Versus Springer

Other than size, what are the characteristics that cause these two breeds to be different. Some folks say they are essentially the same except for size, but other have said they work a field differently.

Do they both retrieve equally well? I will be hunting doves extensively and also pheasants in the Fall.

Is one breed more hard headed than another or difficult to train? I am no pro so I can use all the inherited help I can get.

Thanks.

Dan

They did come from the same litters initially, and they were differentiated by size. But check out the link you were given.

No longer at all the same. You have to experience both to understand. 100% cockers are more bull headed to train, period :). I have dealt with many. Both are gifted retrievers. That is the cockers strongest point, they can flat out retrieve.

I've got a 3 year old ECS and a 6 month old from the same breeder. The 3 year old is 34 pounds and in my opinion large for the breed (plus for me). His dad was good size when we met the litter and confirmed my choice...as i mentioned him being on the large end of the breed size. The 6 month old is going to be the same. Both great noses and hunting sense...even have the 6 month out already putting/scenting up pheasants.

I've got work to do on the large bird retrieves, he sometimes can't figure out how to grab a flapping bird yet but we'll get there...we've kept pushing in order to get the running birds ahead. Busting Cover, no problem with them except i've noticed when in extremely thick tall catails he's had some trouble but actually gets around pretty good because his small size allows him to weave a bit better...and shelterbelts the same...under low logs/branches he can get through or jump where larger dogs can only jump or go around. Grouse hunting in North MN also has been great with him, he can cut through brush much thicker than some larger breeds. So i'd imagine dove hunting would be no prob, I've wanted to try it still!