Browning BPS or Remington 870 Express Super Mag

mcharlto88

I'm new to hunting and plan to go buy my first shotgun in the next week or two. I'm wondering if I can get some opinions on a couple options I've been looking at. The Browning BPS and the Remington 870 Express Super Mag. I was pretty set on the Browning, but saw that Bass Pro is having a sale starting this weekend and the Remington is about half the price after rebates. I've heard they are good guns, but wondering if anybody has ever compared the two, or if somebody can share the pros and cons of each gun. I'm left handed so the browning bottom load and eject was initially very appealing, but I've shot left handed many times in the past and the ejecting on the right side has never bothered me. Thanks for all the help!

If your shooting left handed go with the browning It cost more but is well worth it. My dad has three PBS'S and they are all damn fine pump guns.

I would recommend against a right hand gun.

As far as Browning BPS, my family has three 12 gauge, 3.5" chambers and one 20 gauge youth, 3" chamber. All good guns. I borrowed my son's little 20 when I was training my Drahthaar and it shoots so well, even for a big boy like me.

You can get a 870 Express in left hand configuration. BPS is nicer but heavier. Or you can look for a used L.H. 870 Wingmaster, which would be your best option.

You can get a 870 Express in left hand configuration. BPS is nicer but heavier. Or you can look for a used L.H. 870 Wingmaster, which would be your best option.

I agree with Lefty. I would look for a used left hand 870 Wingmaster. Probably still cost you less than the BPS and you will have a better shotgun. I know guys that love their BPS's but all the guys I knew that had a BPS got rid of them because they had so many problems. You never hear that about a 870.

Model 37? I own all three and feel qualified to provide some input. There is nothing wrong with an American gun.