Another Gun Shy Dog

GWW454

I have a 9 month old Brittany that I started shooting over too soon. When the other dogs point he will back run off 50-75 feet and wait for me to shoot. He will retrieve or chase the bird after the bird flushes and I shoot. If he is off in the distance and I shoot he will come to the sound of the gun. He has occasionally pointed and will back other dogs.

your gonna have to get your dog extremely birdy and on the chase. Start with a kids cap gun that you can buy from walmarts. When the dog is on chase and a distance out shot the cap gun,then a 22 and do this for a while until you think he is ready for a louder shot.. Make sure dog is in full chase. Sometimes this things take a lot of time but will be worth it in the end..GOOD LUCK

I recieved a dog out of the pound this way. I am sure oggies recommendation could work. But what I did even though you look stupid. I did a big celebration and acted excited and praised and said come on or whatever. Also you sound like u are in pretty good shape because of the older dogs. With my praise and excitement and the older dogs it was no time at all before she came around. Now she is the first one to the bird and doesnt share. I am not a dog trainer but seemed to work well. I really think the older dogs help and the excitement out of ur voice is very helpful. I wish I remember the words I used but, I just started acting like an excited idiot in the field. Hope noone seen me. By the way it sounds our dogs did the same thing. They just seem more unsure than totally gunshy.

Sounds like your Brittany will come around when he gets older and more confident. We got my friend's Brittany to retrieve her birds by introducing some threatened competition from an unfamiliar dog (who was willing but not allowed) to snatch her bird from underneath her. Maybe as your dog gets older, some competition from a younger inexperienced dog will get yours to do what it already is thinking about doing.