28 guage rooster shooters?

CloseRange

I'm new to this site. Also I'm new in another sense, in that I just ordered a 28 guage over/under. Definitely I'll be using this 28 during dove and quail hunts, and perhaps during pheasant hunts as well.

As my UPH handle implies, I'm a firm believer in disciplined shot selection. Make each shot be as easy as possible, which means restricting myself to taking shots inside 35 yards using an open choked gun.

For 45 years I've had great success on all bird species using a 12 guage side-by-side choked Imp Cyl/Mod. The 28 guage I'm getting comes with five choke tubes, two of which are Skeet, and I'm really excited about those skeet chokes. I'm a pretty fair shot on birds with my double gun, so a 28 guage O/U with skeet choke (at least in one barrel) should work good for me in many circumstances.

Still, I can't fight down a nagging worry that regardless of choke selection I might be undergunned if I go afield this fall using my 28 on roosters. Any comments by owners of 28 guage shotguns who use their gun on pheasants (or tried but later switched to larger guage) will be appreciated.

I've got one and have killed pheasant with ease. It's not my go to phez gun, but they work fine. You'll hear from Bob on this one. He's our resident 28 ga guru.