Steel Shot

I've recently came to realize that we may have to use steel shot this year on our hunting trip. What is best shell to use in 12 gauges? 2 3/4 or 3 inch? Shot size? I've never used steel shot on pheasants before. Any help would be appreciated.

Here's straight from the horses mouth. Length of shell doesn't matter. Get a decent shell and go with either #2 or #3 shot. Generally 1 1/4 ounce is a good payload for 12 gauge. I've heard great things about Kent and Fiocchi. I've shot some federal black cloud, but only because there was a good rebate on them. Steel also patterns a little tighter than lead or bismuth because it doesn't deform.

Totally agree on the shot length doesn't matter. I use 2.75" on lead or non toxic. If you read ballistics, a 2.75" will outperform a 3" when comparing shell to shell.

I'm more a smaller shot size man myself compared to Bob and his 2s and 3s. But that's personal preference. I used to use 2s and 3s and found myself struggling to hit birds. Switched to 5s and 6s and I do well. I'll even use 7.5s. The smaller steel sizes are tough to come by.

One of my favorite steel shells is Remington Hypersonic. I've had good luck with them.

3" #2. All season long. I've shot a lot of different shot sizes over the years and #2 steel performs well with the knockdown. 3" gives me a few more pellets. But I also do a lot of waterfowl hunting and like to keep everything the same. If I was strictly going to be hunting pheasants, I would probably scale down to #3.

The Black Cloud non-toxic is down right lethal. Expensive but very lethal. It will not only knock your bird down, it will turn your rooster into a shredded rooster. When you drive 2 days to get to SD to hunt, paying a little more for quality shells is pennies on the dollar. If I'm not using Black Cloud, I am using #6 lead 2.75 inch shells. So far I have only used a 12 ga for pheasants in SD. In SC I rarely use my 12 ga. Predominately use a 20 ga OU for my dove and woodcock.