Pudelpointer and Drahthaar comparisons please

Abbeyroad

Anyone with experience with both breeds care to compare the two? I've seen them in isolation, ad both were very good. Both have their ardent fans, so probably hard to go wrong - but it's always nice to hear of first hand experience. I have a good DD breeder locally, so that tips the scales in that direction for me simply based on convenience. Thanks for any observations you might be willing to share.

I have some knowledge of both breeds, but never owned either.

A friend has had 3 Draaths and I duck hunt with them pretty frequently. I had another friend with a Pudelpointer and almost bought one myself. To me they are very similar physically. Strong dogs that like water and will point and retrieve.

The PP was more laid back and fit my style and what I want from a dog. The Draaths were/are more rough and tumble. Very small sample size but that's what I think.

I would agree to the above. I have not owned a Draht but have hunted with a couple and a neighbor has one. From what I have gathered the fur drive is stronger in the Drahts and they can demand a bit more from their handlers. I have had a Pudelpointer for about a year and a half. I will say she is a very driven dog with a high motor. She is very prey driven but has figured out that we are after birds not squirrels, rabbits or mice. My wife’s cat has been a bit of an issue, but even that is getting better….for me 😄