~ K9 Motivation ~ Both Art And Science

View attachment 9840
~ K9 Motivation ~ Gun dog retriever prospect SHR LAKE CHAFFEE'S AUTUMN LEGACY O' TRAD FINIAN MAC JH exhibiting drive and style during a recent training session focused on water work skills specific to 3 directional casting.

All of us that work with dogs have our own ideas with regard to what motivates K9's. For those of us that work with sporting dogs, it is often a number of factors that result in a highly motivated dog. Of course, a great starting place and a common denominator would be excellent field bred genetics. As a trainer, I prefer to stack the deck by working with pups / dogs from proven bloodlines. The time, energy, and money invested in producing solidly performing dogs is considerable, so that in mind, it is a good strategy to increase the odds where and when we can. Along those same lines of consideration, a pup out of a quality breeding with solid health clearances on both the sire and dam are more likely to minimize genetically based health problems down the road and a healthy dog is likely to be more motivated than one that is experiencing chronic health problems or pain.

I utilize a success based training model starting very early on in the pups development and continue that as a core philosophy throughout the entirety of time I am training any individual K9. It is critical to recognize that every dog is different, to that end, a competent trainer will flex his methods to meet each dog's given needs.