Ideas for Girlfriends First Hunt

Hello Everyone!

I am a recent college grad, and my girlfriend is in her final year of college here in the great state of Iowa. While neither of us are native (I'm from Illinois and she is from Minnesota), both her and I have been granted residency by the DNR through our colleges for hunting/fishing purposes (big money saver when it comes to buying licenses).

She has just passed her Hunter's Safety Course, and we will be taking some trips to the gun range here after Thanksgiving. Then, within the next few weeks and before Christmas for sure, I'll be taking her out on her First Ever Pheasant Hunt! I am very excited but no where near as excited as she is!

Now I believe that any new hunter should experience wild birds before being spoiled at a game farm (Even though I'm going to surprise her with a big game farm hunt as an X-mas gift). My only issue is, I've gone out with my chocolate lab in various public areas every weekend since the open with not had much luck! 3 birds in 5 hunts. I know part of it has to do with the incredible pressure at these places, and another part has to be the locations themselves (Hawkeye WMA, Lost Grove Lake WMA, Randolph WMA, various small public areas near Cedar Rapids).

I am NOT asking for your secret spot! However what I am hoping for is some direction a little more specific than "NW Iowa"! We are willing to go anywhere in the state really, though we are on the eastern side. If anyone knows a friendly farmer I could talk to, or if anyone just knows of a place that we won't have to rub elbows with other hunters, I would be so so grateful! Hopefully she'll be hooked after that first big rooster comes exploding up in front of her!

I'll post pics for sure, and feel free to private message me if you'd like!

P.S.- I just recently found this forum, and WOW is it insightful! So many of the members here seem legitimately kind and knowledgeable. Can't represent Iowa much better than that!