Hunting partners

purcel41

Looking to get a group of people together this season to do some hunting. I have a dog and hunt Desplains or Silver Springs mostly. I also have two property's I use for waterfowl. Looking for other guys and their contacts to get together and have a good season. If your interested lets see what we can work out. I live in Plainfield, il and have no problem driving.

I am new to this sport but would willing to hunt des plaines or any other place in reason. I live near midway airport n have a few buddies who may be up to hunt as well. Like I said I am new so please bear with my questions because I have alot. If u are interested please email me. Scotdx@yahoo

I am looking for a good beginner level shotgun. I have checked out a 12ga franchi. 26" barrel. Is that best bang for my buck? With the right choke can I also use it for waterfowl? I don't have a hunting dog. How important is to have a dog dedicated to hunting as a beginner? Can anyone suggest a Club to hunt or am I better off trying the DNR spots?

I'm still going to preach the praises of Mossberg. If you don't mind a pump (I started duck hunting with an auto, pumps took me awhile to get used to, I know it makes me sound like an idiot, but it is what it is), you can get an 870 or Mossberg 500 for cheap. There's a reason they've made the 870 for LOTS of decades.

When I was a teenager we would hunt pheasant and grouse in upper Michigan, near Iron Mountain. We didn't have a dog, we just walked in the woods and fields for awhile. We never did too terribly well, a dog isn't too important, but it will greatly increase your chances at a bird or two.

The flipside to that is the costs involved with a hunting dog, I have my first hunting dog now. He's just over a year old. I spent nine months researching breeders and sending myself and my in-laws to breeders to check their facilities out, I kid you not. I finally settled on a breeder in Missouri, about ten hours away from me.