gun training

Bosco

I was looking to get some outside opinions on this. I have a four month old pup who I have been shooting a starter pistol around and he is doing great. I was looking to see when other folks would recomend step the nose up and what I should step it up too.

Travis

At 4 months I wouldnt worry about much.. Just let the pup be a pup and have fun..Read lots of books and watch some videos find the way that best works for you and stay with it..have fun..good luck

i agree with oggie... i started shooting around sage hard about 8 months old.. but i was shooting alittle clay at 5months but i let her be a puppy when i was shooting it.. keep us informed on howis going ... and have fun with the pup:cheers:

3-4 months of age is a good time to introduce your pup to the gun. Your approach and method of training is the critical part. It sounds like you could advance to a .410 or 20 gauge. Make sure the pup has plenty of distance between the shooter and itself and make sure the pup's attention is on birds, bumpers, or actively searching for them. Watch the pup to see if there is any negative reaction, if none you can get a little closer and repeat the process. After a couple of outings you should be within typical shooting range of the dog. Take your time and don't over do it.

George Hickox has some good training DVDs you can buy at Bass Pro Shop either for "Training Pointing Dogs DVDs - Collection of Volumes I-IV" or ''Training Upland Retrievers Vol. 1-3'' http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/s...e hickox dog training|-|100000000000000135702 It will give you an easy to follow approach to training. I personally don't follow some of the ideas like force fetching but it will provide a good base for teaching commands. If you don't like shock collars, just stick to a check cord. A good book on the philosophy of dog training is "Bird Dog" by Ben O. Williams you can by it at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Bird-Dog-Ben-...=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1203399932&sr=1-3