Struggling

JoshinMN

Looking for advice , guidance, anything to advance my skill set. I am a noob and a half and I have 2 weeks to take off before end of year. I plan on splitting that between pheasants and grouse and want to actually have a clue.

Little about me: new pheasant hunter a little over 40, been hunting for last 3 years with only 1 rooster in that time. With only 1 bird i have got hooked last year and got my first gun dog (LAB). She is a little under 1 year old and she has been flushing grouse/woodcock like crazy. She is doing much better than I ever expected and I now have a desire get better. I have been hunting every weekend since MN grouse opener. I love to watch her hunt/work and she improves weekly.

I learn by watching and trying to mimic what I see. For grouse I see the YouTube videos and locate the same cover and have been finding birds that way.
For pheasants I have had next to zero success the last 3 years. I don’t know where to start other than tall grass next to swaps and corn/beans near that have been harvested.

Problem: Not sure what I am doing right or wrong, and don't want to waste another season with only flushing 5 birds. I hunt 80% solo 20 % with 3 of us.

1. Hunters everywhere
a. How do I find locations without much pressure on weekends?
b. I tend to do walk in access and WMA
2. If everywhere I look has hunters what areas should I try to hunt? Different times of day do you have different areas?
a. Cat tails late season what about early?
b. Morning?
c. afternoon?
d. Night?
3. What do they eat if corn/beans are not nearby?
a. Cow pastures?
b. Hay fields?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

Some of the recent messages on this site may give you some guidance...

Where have you spent most of your hunting time? South, SE, West? Have you reviewed the MN DNR report? Generally., most public hunting close to metro areas will be crowded. And with crops still unharvested, there's lots of hiding places.