shotgun laws

Juliusvatalaro

In SD are you only allowed 3 shells in your shotgun? Someone told me you can have 5 in your gun while pheasant hunting. I have never heard of that before.

Julius

I'm not sure where, or even if, the Handbook addresses your question but as a SD resident I can tell you there is no restriction on the number of shells you can have in your gun while pheasant hunting. Like benelli-banger said, some guys even put extended magazines on their guns so they can hold more than 5 shells.

I have lived and hunted in SD for years and there is NO restriction on the number of shells. Here is another one thats hard for some to believe, you can carry a loaded gun in your car and road hunt small game in SD.:D

I have lived and hunted in SD for years and there is NO restriction on the number of shells. Here is another one thats hard for some to believe, you can carry a loaded gun in your car and road hunt small game in SD.:D

100% correct. That's right loaded, one in the chamber too. I had always thought it was magazine full, non in the chamber but a South Dakota C.O. told me other wise.

No plugs required in KS either,..."as long" as you re NOT hunting 'migratory' birds I believe..

100% correct. That's right loaded, one in the chamber too. I had always thought it was magazine full, non in the chamber but a South Dakota C.O. told me other wise.

that's crazy, i can't imagine driving around with a loaded shotgun in the car or truck, so dangerous, especially with a round in the chamber...not for me.