Pratt Area??

CT20

I am coming to the Pratt area this year. From what I saw on the upland forecast it looks pretty good. Anybody else have any thoughts on this area??

I've been hunting around Pratt for a few years, usually late November. Sometimes it can be a long day, but have always seen plenty of birds. Pratt is a great little, hunter friendly town. Knock on a few doors and/or hang out at the local diners and you may get connected. You may also get into a few coveys of quail if you're lucky.

I have hunted north of Pratt for the last 5 or so years, and have always done real well. Usually just opening weekend, but last year I hunted a lot in January and still saw lots of birds. I was just up there over Labor day and saw lots of birds, earlier this spring my uncle said they had seen a lot of quail, but have since dwindled down. If you go up on opening weekend be sure to eat at Woody's Saturday night they usually have a $1 raffle for a shotgun. It looks like this year all the crops will be out by opening weekend, usually they are still cutting milo. As for getting permission I don't know, and the WIHA areas are pretty slim.

Rod

Hey guys...just joined up!!

CT20:

I have chased birds (quail) near Pratt. Agree that the town folk are good to hunters.

Several years back we hunted the Sandhills WMA which has over 5K acres...of public access. Nice area w/ shelterbelts and lots of plum thickets.

A local auto shop fixed a broken heater on my truck and had me back in the field in no time flat!

How far from Pratt does a guy need to go to get into alot of quail?? Also, are there very many sand burrs in this area, where the dogs need to where boots?

There are places with quite a few sand burrs. Plan on spending fair amount of time digging them our of your dogs. As far as quail, I've had luck just a few miles outside of Pratt. Mostly where I find Plum thickets.........and lots of sand burrs! Good luck.