choice of chokes in O/U

BirdmanMI

I have been using a 20 gauge over and under for many years for pheasants. I use three inch shells. I also have a 12 gauge Beretta 686 that I use occasionally, but I prefer the 20 Orion because of weight. My question for all the other over and under crowd is, what are your choke tubes that you use? I have had fairly good success with skeet over improved but I am curious to the opinions of others. Thanks, John

I would bet you are hunting over a pointer with that combination and most of your shots are fairly close range. I hunt with flushers and use IC, Mod early season and switch to Mod, Full for late season when the birds are wilder and have thicker feathers.

Jerry

Use IC/Mod in my Ruger with #5 for first and #4 for second. We use flushing dog primarily but sometimes get to go with friends pointer nice to mix it up a bit.

In South Dakota, i run light mod in lower barrel and mod in top barrel, shoot 2 3/4 b/p shells in 5's, works well for my 20ga.

Hunt have a Drahthaar and a GWP and my first shot is almost always < 30 yards and usually much less, so in my 12 gauge OU it's SK & IM. In my 16 it's a tight IC & IM, but I could go looser in that first barrel. It's fixed, so I'd need a gunsmith to open it, and it throws pretty good patterns now with an ounce of 6's.

Last edited:
John
Sounds like you know what works for you.

For me, my 20ga gun shooting on roosters is with whatever fixed choke the gun has. I really haven't hunted roosters with my pointer, mainly just my Lab. I have a few 20 ga guns I've used with chokes from LM/IM to sk/M and IC/M to M/F. I used 2 3/4" 1 oz #5 shot. All combinations worked well as long as the shots were within range.