Can I use A border terrier as a bird dog?

Birddog21

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a 4 month old Border Terrier. Can this dog be used to hunt birds? I want to train the dog to point and flush birds while huting. I am new to hunting birds, but have trained dogs in belguim ring sport with some sucsess. Is this dog capable of making me a better hunter. Or is the dog just bred to hunt and catch its prey?
Thank you Birddog21

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, This is a good ?. I would think to some extent you can teach any dog to find some birds for you. I doubt you will get him to point and flush. That is two totally different concepts. But you may end up with a dog that has a hesitation on the flush which is sort of what you describe. You will just have to give it a try.

Last edited:
well i have to say this.. you can NOT train a dog to point. that is something the dog blood line would do. GSP point as well as English Settlers and any pointing dogs. as far as GSP, they point as it comes to them. pointing labs, im not sure but i think they point without training.

my GSP would LOCK and I am the flusher. i come up and get my shotgun ready and i scare the bird up aka flusher and my gsp will take off and i shoot the bird. then the GSP will be on top of that bird. If I miss, i will say STAY.. and he will stop running.

Last edited:
Can't speak to pointing specifically, but my old German Shepherd would retrieve ducks and doves. He wouldn't herd cows though, and that shepherd part of their name is there for a reason. You just won't know until you try.

one thing about a border terrier, you arent gonna see where it is if you do get this dog to do the impossible point.. hes a small dog, let alone pheasants are about his size.. hed be dragging that bird back to you instead of carrying like most gun dogs are designed to be.