can I shoot pigeons for bird training?

ndphezhunter

I am a first timer bird trainer... I just wanted to get some confirmation that I could shoot pigeons for dog training. I live in ND

i know some guys do to start them out on, i usually buy about a dozen quail they are easier for me to get.

well no I wasnt going to start blasting them... I was going to either trap or buy them and shoot them as I launch them from my launcher.

Are you asking is it legal to shoot piegon's for dog training in ND?

If your asking is shooting piegons part of my dogs training a good idea I would say Yes. But I would let a couple fly first so the dog can see them before you shoot. My next question is have you shot around the dog before?

well no I wasnt going to start blasting them... I was going to either trap or buy them and shoot them as I launch them from my launcher.

I know lots of grain elevators such as CO-OP or GTA feed, or any of those... are number one hot spots for Pigeons.

Im sure they would let you set up traps to get pigeons out of their elevators.

try doing that, however they will be wild pigeons so im not sure how they would react to being held in your hands or for training.

just bought wild pigeons that were trapped they were fine being held used gloves at first then found out it was very unneccessary found out that you can over dizzy them if not using launcher was nervouse they would fly away so i really spun them good bad idea because when they get up they fly 10 feet then land again then they will fly into tree and sit thier driving dog crazy
i'm a first time trainer to

just bought wild pigeons that were trapped they were fine being held used gloves at first then found out it was very unneccessary found out that you can over dizzy them if not using launcher was nervouse they would fly away so i really spun them good bad idea because when they get up they fly 10 feet then land again then they will fly into tree and sit thier driving dog crazy