Can Anyone Help Me Out ?

FredMcIntire

I'm a police officer here in Indiana, and like so many others, I'm looking to make a trip out to South Dakota this year. I know season doesn't open until October 15th; however, I have 2 weeks off work this year, October 9th through October 22nd.

I'll most likely be hunting by myself, and its unlikely I'll have a dog with me. Can you point me in the right direction to get in some decent foot hunting in South Dakota ? I'm assuming my best bets, and possibly my only options opening week, are going to be public land hunting.

If you'd prefer to eMail me privately, my eMail is Fred@FredMcIntire.Com .

Any information that you can provide is GREATLY APPRECIATED !!

Fred

Last edited:
I am from Indiana also and went to SD last season. If your hunting without a dog I would suggest hunting the ditches along old county roads. You can go to the SD website and get a booklet that shows all the public ground and roadways. We found most of our birds along old roadways that are no longer maintained. In the SD hunting atlas these are the roads that are shown with the broken lines. I hope this helps.

I am from Indiana also and went to SD last season. If your hunting without a dog I would suggest hunting the ditches along old county roads.

That's going to be your best bet. Ditches start filling up with birds around 3-4PM until sunset.

If your working public land walk the fence lines/field edges. Pheasant like to dust themselves were crops and fields meet.

Good luck and don't get discouraged. They are a skilled opponent and will most likely give you the slip;), but when you finally get a nice rooster it's very rewarding. :cheers:

I agree with the advice given so far and I would stay south of I 90 and west of US 281 but not west of Winner SD, also read the rule book on road hunting and game retrival rules.