Boards and Barrels???

Gatzby

Can anyone here give me some feed back. I have been hearing about "boards and barrels" quartering drills. Unfortunately I can't find anything or anyone that can explain it.
Steve

I am no quartering expert but I always just taught mine as a basic obedience drill in the field. Once the puppy has an understanding of sit, here, and heel I just start giving a tug on the lead as you would in teaching here and toot the whistle. At the same time I am turning the dog with the lead and encouraging them to come my why with a hand signal. Then turn again always zig sagging and making sure the dog never goes behind me. Using a long enough rope to teach the dog what range I want. Once they understand I translate to birds with the lead. At least that is how I have done it with great success. Of course after collar conditioning the collar translates from the lead if the dog gets out of range but quiet honestly that doesn't happen very often as labs tend to work close naturally. Simple baseball drills that we do for handling aids as well. So you can cast the dog anywhere and any direction.

:) Well yes I can, But I wont touch the subject with a 10 foot poll LOL

That's pretty much the same response I got from another trainer.... Now my interest is even more piqued!!! But I am guessing a public forum isn't the place to discuss it.

Yep seems to be one of those things that are not spoken about on the internet.
Here is a youtube video with Jim Keller using buckets.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXfpfh39kKI
There seems to be many methods of using buckets. I have seen some people use them with placeboards and some without placeboards. Some use more buckets to teach a pattern and some seem to only use a few to teach some of the basics. Some use birds on the buckets and some only use dummies.

Yep seems to be one of those things that are not spoken about on the internet.
Here is a youtube video with Jim Keller using buckets.