Advice on a hard mouth?

Ranger Rick

My 1-1/2 year old setter is coming along nicely. I worked him on planted quail late summer. As he got staunch on point, I started shooting them for him. He retrieved enthusiastically. On to the season and wild birds. Grouse population is down and we've only nailed one. Woodcock are plentiful and we've been getting plenty. He's been mopping them up and this past weekend he put on a pointing clinic for my brothers.

At the beginning of the season he was retrieving with coaxing. Then he spit one out mid-retrieve. Picked up the next one that was very much alive and it proceeded to beat him about the face with it's wings. He dropped it and sat next to it, as if to say "WTF is that?". Next bird was flapping on the ground, he pounced and I heard a "crunch". Since then he's been pretty hard on the birds and even protective, not wanting to give them to me and not retrieving. This past weekend I think he would have eaten a couple of them if I hadn't intervened. Any advice?

unfortunately you are dealing with two separate issues
one, not wanting to retrieve without coaxing
two, not wanting to give the bird up

this doesn't necessarily make for a "hard mouthed" dog but it could be the start if you don't get things squared away

I am sure most everyone will say force fetch

but I'd say, take a few steps backwards to the point where you were having success with the quail; start there and see what happens

use a checkcord, when the pup retrieves immediately "reel" him in, don't give him anytime to think, just get him back to you as quickly as practical, this should not be a tug-of-war but there should a sense of urgency

and I know you don't want to hear it but my advice is don't hunt your dog until you resolve these issues

beaker is right. You need to get him to a trainer and put through a trained retrieve (force fetch) program. If done properly that should take care of both issues.