Winchester Rooster XR shells

They pattern tight , I have patterned them and turkey loads and they are the best I have seen for extened range .

Yes they put birds down really good , main thing is hit'em in front .

Too many people fall victim to the marketing hype of boutique shells (the newest fastest longest range shells) that the ammo companies put out each year. They are expensive and greatly benefit the ammo companies. They would have you think that a new breed of armour plated roosters have evolved and you need their new super duper load to kill them. Get back to basics and don't over think your ammo. I have been hunting Pheasants for 40 years and have never seen a rooster that could not be killed with 1 1/8 - 1 1/4 oz. of hard #6 or #5s at around 1200 FPS.

Too many people fall victim to the marketing hype of boutique shells (the newest fastest longest range shells) that the ammo companies put out each year. They are expensive and greatly benefit the ammo companies. They would have you think that a new breed of armour plated roosters have evolved and you need their new super duper load to kill them. Get back to basics and don't over think your ammo. I have been hunting Pheasants for 40 years and have never seen a rooster that could not be killed with 1 1/8 - 1 1/4 oz. of hard #6 or #5s at around 1200 FPS.

+1 Amen!!!!

+1 here too and please let me add: The problem with these hyped "boutique" shells is that they give the impression that one can effectively shoot and kill pheasants at extended ranges.

The truth is that the majority of pheasants that are shot and retrieved are engaged at distances between about 25 and 35 yards.

Many that are shot at ranges over 40 yards are not recovered if they are knocked down. Many more are injured and fly off when struck by shot at these extended ranges. This is regardless of the ammo type and these birds do not have access to affordable health care.