What have you been seeing?

jmnhunter

hey guys, heading out with dad to a family farm near woonsocket next weekend. Its been about 3 years or so since we've been back there since the numbers of birds and habitat have been down around there. We do have private land to hunt, but, it might as well be public as my dad's cousin lets a few different groups hunt it throughout the year. To make a long story longer, he has enough land for us to burn about a days worth and after hearing how the others have been doing out there, my confidence is not all that high for out there.

Now, I'm a public land hunter by trade, so the public land hunting in MN for me this year has been pretty good, I would almost put it against the public stuff in SD from my prior experience with the public land out there.

*Almost is the key word, as I've only hunted a couple of public land pieces in in that woonsocket area, and I dont think I've kicked up a rooster on one yet. Now, my tentative plan is to hit some public stuff early friday before my old man meets me at the farm friday afternoon. I was curious on other's reports have been between the Mitchell to White lake, Armour to Wolsey on public land. I do not mind driving up to 45 miles or so. I dont need specific spots, just curious on the numbers you have been seeing. I"m doing some prescouting with some aerials, I'm a sucker for WPA's :D

hey guys, heading out with dad to a family farm near woonsocket next weekend. Its been about 3 years or so since we've been back there since the numbers of birds and habitat have been down around there. We do have private land to hunt, but, it might as well be public as my dad's cousin lets a few different groups hunt it throughout the year. To make a long story longer, he has enough land for us to burn about a days worth and after hearing how the others have been doing out there, my confidence is not all that high for out there.