Steadiness

Hutcho

Quick question for you guys. First off I'm really new to training. I got my GSP last year, he's older, gonna be 7 this year but he's a good dog. He likes to creep though, not to mention he's not a fan of retrieving, but that's a subject for a different day. Anyways. From what I've read and researched I feel like a bunch of birds and a launcher is gonna be my solution to helping him be steadier. I text a buddy the other day that trains for a living and he said they have launchers but never use them, just crack the dog in the head with the gun barrel if he moves. Seems kinda messed up to me. Anyway, am I on the right track?

Side note. In the near future I should have a near unlimited supply of pen birds to train with. My neighbor is wanting to raise some and I'm helping get him setup.

I am no dog trainer, but from reading this, is your concern that the dog "creeping-up" on a located bird, not coming to a solid point and HOLDING or he is not steady to the "flush, shot, fall or release command" to retrieve the bird? Just making sure what the issue is. If it is the later, I think I would work on the retrieving skill.

Sorry I should be more clear. He will go on point, but once on point he wants to creep in on the birds. Haven't had an issue with him flushing them yet but I definitely want to get it fixed.

As for retrieving he couldn't care less. He just goes on to the next bird lol! Although we took him out after the last field trial and he did retrieve to hand so idk what the heck lol!

I'm also no dog trainer but I personally don't have a problem with my dogs creeping. Both of them do it and it hasn't cost me a bird yet. On wild birds, I like that they creep. Wild birds don't sit as tight as pen raised.

Now if you're going for a field trial type where they have to be rock solid, maybe mix in a check cord while working with him so you have control and can give a little tug on it. Bird launchers help with this as you can control the flush.